Mediation

of consumption

What is mediation?

Mediation is a free and confidential recourse for customers who are dissatisfied with the response of a professional following their complaint.

The mediation of consumption is framed by several legal and regulatory texts, and mainly by the Code of consumption (articles L 611-1 to L 641-1, articles R 612-1 to R 616-1). In order to appeal to the SNCF Voyageurs Mediator, you must have already made a written complaint to which SNCF Voyageurs, Eurostar, Thalys or Chemins de Fer de la Corse have refused in writing or have not replied within the deadlines listed below:

For SNCF Voyageurs :
1 month from the sending of your written complaint.

Logo SNCF Voyageurs

For SNCF Voyageurs :
1 month from the sending of your written complaint.

For Eurostar, Thalys and Chemins de Fer de la Corse: 3 months from the sending of your written complaint. This claim must not be more than one year old.

Logo Thalys, Eurostar, Chemins de fer de la Corse

For Eurostar, Thalys and Chemins de Fer de la Corse: 3 months from the sending of your written complaint. This claim must not be more than one year old.

In disputes between a consumer and a professional, mediation aims to resolve the dispute in an independent, impartial, transparent and fair manner. It is initiated voluntarily by the consumer; it is free of charge.

If your complaint concerns a violation of the first four classes of the rail transport police (articles R2241-8 to R2241-30 of the Transport Code and prefectural decrees for stations: no ticket, invalid discount, irregular crossing of a control line, ticket not stamped, etc.) recorded in a report by an SNCF Voyageurs agent, you must refer the matter to the Mediation officer, after the Collection Center, within 3 months of the date of the ticket.

The mediation process

Frame 215
Free and confidential

The mediation process is free. You will only be responsible for postage costs and any paid consulting fees (lawyer). The process is confidential, as the Mediator and his team are bound by professional secrecy.

The different stages of the process

Check the eligibility requirements for your application.

Refer to the Mediator.

The Mediator, after receiving a request from a client who provides him with all the documents necessary for the investigation of the request, notifies the parties by email or by post of its receipt. This notification is the starting point of the process.

The Mediator and his team examine the cases on the basis of the elements transmitted to them by the parties. :

  • For commercial disputes, the response time is 90 days after notification of receipt of the above request. The Mediator may extend this time limit if the dispute is complex, in which case he will inform the parties.
  • In the case of reports, referral to the Mediator suspends the transmission of the report to the public prosecutor.

To Know

  • You may withdraw from the mediation process at any time.
  • If your dispute does not fall within the scope of the Mediator’s powers, you will be informed within 3 weeks.

The Mediator gives his opinions in law and in equity, by mail or email depending on the method of referral. These opinions are rendered in French or English, depending on the language in which they were submitted.

  • Regarding commercial disputes: the opinion is a proposal. The parties are free to accept or reject within 14 days from the date on the notice. After this period, the notice will be considered as accepted. In the event of an express refusal by one of the parties within this period, the notice shall not be applied and the other party shall be informed of the refusal.
  • Concerning the requests relating to the minutes (SNCF Voyageurs): the opinion has the value of a proposal. In the event of a reduction in the amount of the fine, agreed to by both parties, the process will continue and you will be required to pay your fine in accordance with the Mediator ‘s opinion. In the absence of payment, the official report of infraction is transmitted to the public prosecutor and the fine is increased.

In both cases, the Mediator ‘s opinion is final. It is not subject to appeal to him. However, you have the possibility of bringing an action before any competent court in order to assert your rights; within the framework of this procedure, the opinion of the Mediator cannot be produced and would have no value.

The Mediator 's mission

It carries out its mission in complete impartiality and has a separate and sufficient budget as well as a dedicated team.

It acts in accordance with the provisions of the Consumer Code relating to consumer mediation and the Mediation Protocol signed on 16 October 2020.

Download the protocol

La Médiation

SNCF Voyageurs

Qu’est-ce que la médiation ?

La médiation est un recours gratuit et confidentiel qui s’adresse aux clients insatisfaits de la réponse d’un professionnel obtenue à la suite de leur réclamation.

La médiation de la consommation est encadrée par plusieurs textes juridiques, et principalement par le Code de la consommation (articles L 611-1 à L 641-1, articles R 612-1 à R 616-1). Pour faire appel au Médiateur SNCF Voyageurs, vous devez obligatoirement avoir déjà effectué une réclamation écrite à laquelle SNCF Voyageurs, Eurostar, Thalys ou les Chemins de Fer de la Corse vous ont opposé un refus écrit ou n’ont pas répondu dans les délais repris ci-après :


Pour SNCF Voyageurs :

1 mois à compter de l’envoi de votre réclamation écrite.

Logo SNCF Voyageurs


Pour SNCF Voyageurs :

1 mois à compter de l’envoi de votre réclamation écrite.


Pour Eurostar, Thalys et les Chemins de Fer de la Corse : 3 mois à compter de l’envoi de votre réclamation écrite. Cette réclamation ne doit pas dater de plus d’un an.

Logo Thalys, Eurostar, Chemins de fer de la Corse

 

Pour Eurostar, Thalys et les Chemins de Fer de la Corse : 3 mois à compter de l’envoi de votre réclamation écrite. Cette réclamation ne doit pas dater de plus d’un an.

Dans les litiges qui opposent un consommateur à un professionnel, la médiation vise à solutionner ce litige de manière indépendante, impartiale, transparente et équitable. Elle est engagée volontairement par le consommateur et elle est gratuite.

Si votre réclamation porte sur une contravention à la police du transport ferroviaire des quatre premières classes (articles R2241-8 à R2241-30 du Code des transports et arrêtés préfectoraux des gares : sans titre de transport, réduction non valable, franchissement irrégulier d’une ligne de contrôle, titre non composté, …) constatée par procès-verbal par un agent de SNCF Voyageurs, vous devez saisir le Médiateur, postérieurement au Centre de Recouvrement, dans le délai de 3 mois suivant la date de verbalisation.

Le processus de médiation

Frame 215
Gratuit et confidentiel

Le processus de médiation est gratuit. Seuls les frais postaux et les éventuels frais de conseil rémunérés (avocat) restent à votre charge. Le processus est confidentiel, le Médiateur et son équipe étant tenus au secret professionnel.

Les différentes étapes du processus

Vérifiez les conditions de recevabilité de votre demande.

Saisissez le Médiateur.

Le Médiateur, saisi d’une demande par un client qui lui fournit toutes les pièces nécessaires à l’instruction de celle-ci, avise les parties par email ou par courrier de sa réception. Cette notification est le point de départ du processus.

Le Médiateur et son équipe instruisent les dossiers sur la base des éléments qui leur sont transmis par les parties.

  • Pour les litiges commerciaux, le délai de réponse est de 90 jours après la notification de réception de la demande visée ci-avant. Le Médiateur peut prolonger ce délai si le litige est complexe, il en informe alors les parties.
  • Pour les procès-verbaux, la saisine du Médiateur suspend la transmission du procès-verbal au ministère public.

À savoir

  • Vous pouvez à tout moment vous retirer du processus de médiation.
  • Si votre litige n’entre pas dans le champ de compétence du Médiateur, vous en êtes informé sous 3 semaines.

Le Médiateur rend ses avis en droit et en équité, par courrier ou email selon le mode de saisine. Ces avis sont rendus en français ou en anglais, selon la langue dans laquelle il a été saisi.

  • Concernant les litiges commerciaux : l’avis a valeur de proposition. Les parties sont libres d’accepter ou de refuser sous un délai de 14 jours à partir de la date figurant sur l’avis. Passé ce délai, l’avis sera considéré comme accepté. En cas de refus exprès par l’une des parties dans ce délai, l’avis n’est pas appliqué et l’autre partie est informée du refus.
  • Concernant les demandes relatives aux procès-verbaux (SNCF Voyageurs) : l’avis a valeur de proposition. En cas de minoration du montant du procès-verbal, acceptée par les deux parties, le processus suit son cours et vous devez régler votre amende conformément à l’avis du Médiateur. A défaut de règlement, le procès-verbal d’infraction est transmis au ministère public et l’amende est majorée.

Dans ces deux cas, l’avis du Médiateur est définitif. Il n’est pas susceptible de recours devant lui. Cependant, vous avez la possibilité de saisir toute juridiction compétente afin de faire valoir vos droits ; dans le cadre de cette procédure, l’avis du Médiateur ne pourra pas être produit et n’aurait aucune valeur.

En cas de refus du réclamant de suivre l’avis du Médiateur et à défaut de règlement, la procédure judiciaire suit son cours et le procès-verbal d’infraction est transmis au ministère public, en application de l’article 529-5 du Code de procédure pénale.

La mission du Médiateur

Il accomplit sa mission en toute impartialité et dispose à ce titre d’un budget distinct et suffisant ainsi que d’une équipe dédiée.

Il agit conformément aux dispositions du Code de la consommation relatives à la médiation de la consommation et au Protocole de médiation signé le 16 octobre 2020.

Téléchargez le protocole